TIY Day Three

I’m not going to lie, yesterday started out a little bit intimidating.  It was our first day working with CSS and while I thought that I had understood our reading from the previous night, when we started working on our group activities and talking everything out it got to be a little bit confusing.

The first activity that we did in the morning was fine, it was just figuring out specificity and which item had precedence over another.  I thought it was a good exercise to help us really start to read the full code.  Then we moved into how to apply CSS to HTML and in concept my group was on the same page, but I think that when we really started to write the code is where I started to get a little bit confused.

The one thing that I really took away from that activity is the importance of knowing key terms.  I’m definitely going to start taking better notes on definitions throughout our readings and I think I’m going to start keeping a notebook where I write out the key terms just to have them all in one place.  I know that sounds a little bit OCD but honestly for me it’s the best way to really understand what I’m reading and memorize terms more quickly.

When the afternoon rolled around yesterday, I was a little bit nervous going into our project after struggling a little in the last activity during the morning.  But our “orientation lesson” yesterday morning was about having a growth mindset and not being afraid to fail, so I decided to embrace that and just started writing code and it actually turned out to be not so intimidating.

I think one thing that really helped me was the box model and really remembering that each different HTML element is really just a box and can be styled as such in CSS.  Having taken a few graphic design courses in college and just liking to paint and being a very visual person in general, remembering the box model really helped me to figure out which elements needed to be styled in certain ways and I finally figured out the project.

If you wanna check out a link to my final project from yesterday, you can find that here.

All of that being said, it’s about time for me to head out to campus.  Today we’re focusing on more CSS and developing layouts, so I’m definitely excited for that!

Leave a Reply

